A Few Words About Freddie


The first time I became acquainted with his work was when my sister took me to see Flash Gordon in 1980. I’d heard Another One Bites The Dust and We Will Rock You a few hundred times without ever really connecting that someone was actually singing those songs. But there, sitting in the theater, Roger’s drums and John’s bass line come up and then THAT voice came up. Ironic that one of the lines in the song is “He stands for every one of us,” because that’s what Freddie Mercury specialized in.

There are a few performers that elevate singing in a way that makes you feel like they’re singing the song only for and only to you. When you hear I’m In Love With My Car, there’s a part of your soul that aches that you didn’t come off a Detroit assembly line. I don’t know if it was his vocal range (8 octaves–JEEZ!) of the fire beneath him or what precisely it was that made him able to speak to so many, but I know at least my life would be poorer with his Kind Of Magic, for he was in a clear way Made In Heaven.

Thanks, Freddie.

~ by Sean on November 7, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
