Ice cream, bullets, and my family


Our apartment is behind a shopping center. In the shopping center is a Dairy Queen that I’ve been in to get Stace and Brian ice cream a bunch of times.

On October 30th, someone went into that Dairy Queen with a gun, and was chased out by the owner, who also had a gun. Shots were fired.  I would’ve heard them.  That scares the living crap out of me.

Mind you, I KNOW for a fact that we don’t live in a perfect neighborhood. There’s a convicted child molester around the corner. There are not-nice people across the street. Drugs are suspected. Not to mention our over the top neighbor on the residence board.

But still…those are all outside the house. Flying bullets could easily come inside the house. I was at work when this happened. I need to work. If I’d been home, what could I have done? Seriously? Not a hell of a lot.

That scares the hell out of me. The fact that my son walks right by the place on the way to and from the bus stop for school terrifies me. The utter helplessness pisses me off.

~ by Sean on November 5, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
