Weird Envelopes on my Doorstep


I need a new camera. I’m a videographer without a camera. I don’t even have a good single CCD camera. I have a kinda crappy one. Thus, I’ve been bouncing around on-line looking at 3 chip cameras. Need at least two grand. Sad, sad.

I get up today, get dressed to go get Brian at the bus stop. I put the garbage out, and there’s a Fed Ex envelope on the steps. The pessimist in me says it can’t be good. Can’t be at all good. It’s addressed to me. Gotta be bad. Gotta be worse. Don’t even open it.

I open it.

The return address is someplace in California. The only thing in the envelope is a check made out to me for twenty five hundred dollars. It’s a check from All State Construction in Long Beach, California.

What the hell is going on? I ask myself. I look in the envelope. Nothing else. No note, no “We think you’re a swell guy so go buy a camera and shoot us a commercial.” More’s the pity.

Turns out this is a known about scam. They send some schmoe(namely, ME) a check, said schmoe cashes the check, then they come back and want three times the money, your first born, any and all baseball cards and a sandwich. I’d make them the sandwich if I could get the camera….

~ by Sean on February 3, 2011.

4 Responses to “Weird Envelopes on my Doorstep”

  1. Hmmm… I haven’t read about a variation of the scam this simple before. Usually there’s something else involved with it. It’s kind of hard to hold anyone over a legal barrel if you send them money or a check with no strings attached.

    That’s really all it was? Just a check made out to you?

  2. Yep.

    Okay, scratch that too soon yep. I got an e-mail today from a guy that I’ve been in touch with in Nova Scotia about editing some stuff, but the way the e-mail was worded looks sorta scammish, at least according to, well, everything I’ve seen on-line about this. I’m gonna have to figure this one out a little more.

  3. Scam scam scam scam scam scam scam scam scammity scam—

    Bloody Vikings!

  4. This one was really disappointing. It was initially set up as an editing thing, I’d be pulling clips from an FTP site and sending them over. Alas, ’twas not to be….

Leave a Reply

 
