Just Do Good


I was just pondering some ponderables. Like I said in the Career Day thread, I haven’t been feeling really good about myself for a while. BTW, Jerry, let me know if there’s anything I can do to help.

On one of my waaaay too long overnight shifts, I was bouncing around Wikipedia, looking for interesting randomness. Happened to put in Mackenzie Calhoun. One of the links in the article was to one of PAD’s Q&A sessions from a couple years ago. Michael Brunner, whom I SWEAR I went to school with, since how many Mike Brunners can there be? Anyway, he’d asked if there was any chance of the Photon books being reprint. I posted a link to the Newtown Book and Record Exchange. Mike posted a direct thank you.

I did some good.

I TRY to do good all the time. I try to do the right thing. To be fair, usually it gets noticed somewhat. That’s not why I do it. I have to look myself in the mirror. I have to look at Brian and Stace. I have to see my hands. Sure, my job may not be all I want right now, but I’m TRYING. For now, that and the fact that I’m trying to do better will have to be enough. Even for me.

I do need to write more. I can’t get caught in the whole “You’re never going to sell this thing” trap. That’s not why I write. I write because the stories are there. Enough of my friends have told me that I can write so that I know I can. There are too many Negatory Nellies out there.

I just need this in black and white or white on black or purple and peuce to see it when I get on myself.

~ by Sean on October 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
