Efficient Means Of Communication


Some people are aware that I’ve been trying to get an editing  job for a while.  A few days before Thanksgiving, I saw an ad for a feature film looking for an editor, so I sent my resume with the link to my videos.  Right on my resume is my phone number.  Black Friday I get a response, asking if I was aware that this movie was going to be submitted to festivals and would only make money if it was picked up.  I responded yesterday that, yes, I was aware of that.  Everything’s good.  Hunky dory.

I then get an e-mail wondering why it took me so long to respond.  I replied that between working and the holiday, e-mail was not a very high priority over the last few days.  The response to this was a very terse message which said that between my alleged work schedule and the fact that the whole team needs to be in constant contact, they didn’t want me. 
I don’t find e-mail to be constant contact.  Certainly, when I’m at work and I have Outlook open constanly, well, sure.  If I’m home I’m generally not on-line.  My phone, however, is always on my hip.  Did I receive a call?  No.   If I’m looking to hire someone, I call them.  On the phone.  I don’t e-mail and then wait for a response. 

But I AM brain damaged, so maybe I’m the crazy one.

~ by Sean on December 2, 2009.

3 Responses to “Efficient Means Of Communication”

  1. But I AM brain damaged, so maybe I’m the crazy one.

    Uh, no.

    First, I’ve been told to be wary of working for free under any circumstances and I think it’s good advice. It devalues your work, for one thing. More important, the promise of “making money at some future date” is very rarely realized.

    Second, these people have some damned nerve talking to you like this if they want you to work for free. You get what you pay for. Your priority is to make money for yourself and your family, not to give away your work for free.

    Third, would you puh-leeze stop putting yourself down for being “brain damaged?” If you hadn’t told me, I’d never have known. Even knowing that you are, I have yet to see any external signs of it. YOu’re one of the smartest people I know — EXCEPT when it comes to your self-concept, which is unrealistically low.

  2. You are, of course, right, my good friend. My brain is just kinda foremost on my mind today of all days.

  3. Wow. You tell them you’ll work for free and they have a hissy fit and chew you out because you didn’t respond to their email the second they sent it while ignoring the contact number you gave them from contact one with them.

    Assholes.

Leave a Reply

 
