Movie Time Again


Went to the movies last night with Brian P, my best friend who’s not blood. No, we didn’t see 2012 or as I termed it Roland Emmerich’s Latest Evidence That He Really Wanted To Be In Demolitions. No, instead we took in The Fourth Kind.

First, some background. Look behind you. That’s the background.

Now, some explanation. I have been reading about aliens and abductions since I was in third grade. From Betty and Barney Hill to Linda Cortile to all of the late John Mack’s anonymous subjects, I’ve read them. Any documentary from the exceedingly cheesy to the well done that I can get my eyes on I’ve seen. I’m familiar with the patterns. This movie had some of the patterns. It plays like a documentary. It’s NOT, even though it claims to have actual footage and recordings.  These are likewise put together pretty convincingly, although they all show things that I”ve never read about or heard about.  Does that mean it COULDN’T happen like that?  No.  There are enough weird things in the real stories that could have more of an effect than what they showed.   Still, it’s put together pretty well. There are enough gotcha moments to make it cool. There are a couple hints that it’s not true for the observant.  I’m not going to go into them since I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, or the fun of finding them.  Some are really obvious, some less so. 

It had the danger of being like The Possession of Emily Rose, which couldn’t decide if it wanted to be a paranormal movie or a courtroom movie and failed at being either. I’d give this eight and a half out of ten for being entertaining.  As something to forward the cause of ufology, on the other hand….

~ by Sean on November 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
