Horror


Watching the first Alien VS Predator right now.  I’m the first to admit, when I saw the second Predator with the alien skull hanging on the wall, I thought THAT would be a fight.   This movie, that I just turned off, doesn’t come close to be as scary as the trailers for the other movies.  That’s right, I said the trailers.  One of the things that worked in both of the original movies, you didn’t know anything.  You couldn’t SEE anything.  Even in Giger’s Necronomicon IV, there’s more in shadow than shown, your fear fills in the blanks.  Some things are never meant to be shown playing in all their glory except as a hey, look what I can do in After Effects! sequences.  Some ideas that sound cool around the coffee table at a party, like my assembled zombie idea, need to much visualization to really be frightening.  Also, once it’s seen, it’s known, oh look, it’s a xenomorph and it has two mouths and what’s on the other channel? 

Is horror really just a grown-up game of peek a boo?

~ by Sean on May 22, 2009.

3 Responses to “Horror”

  1. Granted I’m not a huge fan of Alien or Predator, but I liked Alien I-II and even III, to a degree, and I liked Predator I-II. Alien vs. Predator seemed bland for the most part. I’m not sure why. You’re probably right Sean. It wasn’t scary enough.

    Don’t you find it a little troubling that the Predators are considered good guys sort of? Yes, they kill people for fun (who hasn’t), but they are very noble about it. At least they have a sense of good sportsmanship.

  2. Unless, of course, you’re their sport….

  3. No, good horror is far more than grown up peek-a-boo. The problem with horror films today (and action/horror films like AVP) is that too many modern filmmakers treat horror like action.

    There’s no use of atmosphere or any psychological tricks to out a viewer on edge. It’s all, “Oh, look!!! Big scary monster at five-o’clock!!! Be very afraid!!!”

    They don’t know what they’re doing and you end up with horror that’s anything but.

Leave a Reply

 
