Celebrity Politics


No, it’s not the NEW REALITY SHOW FROM PRODUCER ANYONE UNDER D. SUN!

Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of people getting riled because various celebrities (GASP!) have the gall, the unmitigated GALL, to have their own political views and they (BIGGER GASP!) ACT on them.  Same people then respond negatively to same celebrities, saying they’ll never buy/view/consume anything of celebrity’s output again because, in essence, “They’re not the person I thought I knew.”  Well, here’s a list to help those people–

1) CELEBRITIES ARE PEOPLE FIRST.  They have brains, hearts, opinions, and most of them(I’m assuming) fart.   And if they disagree with you, well, GET OVER IT.  These people don’t exsist to live in your preconceptions.

2) IF CELEBRITIES DO SOMETHING FOR  A CAUSE THEY BELIEVE IN, DON’T GET INDIGNANT BECAUSE THEY DON’T GIVE EQUAL TIME TO YOUR CAUSE WHICH IS PROBABLY COMPLETELY OPPOSITE THE INITIAL CAUSE. 

3) YOU ENJOYED THE WORK BEFORE THE SUPPOSED OFFENSE, DON’T LET POLITICS OR BELIEFS CHANGE SOMETHING YOU ENJOY IF IT’S NOT CENTRAL TO THE WORK.

4)IF CELEBRITY X DOES DO SOMETHING LIKE THIS, IT’S NOT A PERSONAL ATTACK ON YOU.  MOST CELEBRITIES WOULDN’T KNOW YOU FROM ADAM UNLESS IT WAS TO GET A RESTRAINING ORDER ON YOUR CREEPY BUTT.  YOU DON’T ACTUALLY KNOW THEM, EVEN IF YOU DO KNOW THAT THEY SPREAD HERSHEY’S SYRUP OVER THEIR MORNING SERVING OF KUMQAUTS BEFORE ACUPUNCTURE CLASS.

~ by Sean on October 17, 2008.

5 Responses to “Celebrity Politics”

  1. While I agree, I am wondering what set this one off.

  2. A letter I saw in the Philadelphia Daily News complaining that Bruce Springstein did a fund raiser for Obama and has NEVER DONE ONE FOR A REPUBLICAN CANDIDATE and someone over at PAD’s bemoaning that he’ll(at least, I’ll assume it’s a he) never buy another PAD book because Peter’s (GASP) a LIBERAL!!

  3. Just wondering. I thought that you had caught any one of the more vile Right Wing TV or radio pundits doing their usual garbage about celebrities that publicly support a Democrat. I pretty much ignore them at this point because, right after demanding that they shut up and sing, keep their mouths shut about it and just read their scripted lines from now on or stick to writing fiction, these same hypocrites then haul out “our show’s good, good friend” to talk about what a great guy the Republican in the news is and the show’s “good, good friend” is a celebrity with Right of center beliefs.

    But it does serve to give people the opportunity to have fun. I once showed a friend of mine that Hannity is a liar and a hypocrite all in one shot. Not long after the Dixie chicks flap, Hannity had Ted Nugent (who I like) on his radio show as a guest. With my “Hannity only tells the truth” friend in the room I got through to Hannity’s program and asked him at what point he was going to tell his good friend Ted to shut up and sing or not.

    I got hung up on, I had my comment blanked out by their delay switch and Hannity apologized to his listeners for the “profanity” used towards his guest by the left wing loon that called. My friend has been a bit less the Hannity fan and isn’t quite as quick to defend Hannity’s honesty since then.

    See? The stupidity has an upside.

    🙂

  4. You’re a left wing loon!! I always KNEW there was something FOWL about you!! Hung up on by Hannity–THERE’s a mantle-worthy trophy! Knew we were friends for a reason!

    I have to confess to occasionally listening to the local Philadelphia “Station For Intelligent Conservative Talk.” I know a lot of intelligent conservatives. None of them talk that way. I’ve always found one of the hallmarks of intelligent talk, or stated more correctly, conversation, isn’t so much the talking but the listening. However, talk radio needs talking, so stick someone behind a mike and tell them what view they’re supposed to have to keep the ad revenue coming in and you’ll get crap like that.

    TRUE STORY–when I used to take my mom out shopping, she’d leave the radio on, occasionally Limbaugh. I was always amused when the dogs would leave presents on the rugs on those cases.

    Once, in broadcasting school, I had to do a sports commentary show. It was right after Sprewell strangled his coach or something. So, I winged it, spouted off about how this wasn’t a role model, children are supposed to look up to this guy, etc. etc. and so on and so forth. Mind you, as someone with a nasty temper myself, I didn’t buy any of it. The teacher didn’t either, since I basically just kept repeating the same things. Now, listening to a lot of these talking types, it seems THEY’RE just repeating things. Do THEY believe it? I don’t know, but they’re still getting paid…

  5. Had a thought just now. Smoke alarms still going off. Next time you get either a right wing or left wing type mouthing off about about how the other wing, ask them if they think the opposite wing should be eliminated, or will eventually eliminate themselves. If they answer in the affirmative, reply with this statement.

    “That’s why I’m glad you’re not an aircraft designer.”

Leave a Reply

 
