Scullion Goes To The Movies


I’ve watched a lot of movies lately. Netflix, Father’s Day presents, and picking from our barrister bookcase of DVD’s.  So, in no particular order, here are some reviews.

THE OMEGA MAN–Not as good as the Vincent Price version.  Charleton Heston was cool, Bob McKenzie had that part right, it was a beauty.  The make-up was decent.  Taken as itself, pretty good movie.  Compared to Last Man On Earth, a pale imitation.  (Pale–get it?)  Compared to I Am Legend, the Will Smith one, okay.  Having the vampires, sorry, The Family retain their intelligence kinda creepy.  Not scary, but yeah, as a horror movie, in “That would be horrible if it happened to me,” it was well done. 

LEADS TO

I AM LEGEND–Closer to the book than Omega Man.  NOT as close as Last Man On Earth.  Some really creepy parts, and the bit with the dogs–SOOOO wrong.  For as good as it was at creating atmosphere, though, I didn’t like the end.  It was cool the way they did it, but seriously, it just loses something the way they did it.

ROSEMARY’S BABY–Makes me glad I don’t live in the city, and that Stace isn’t pregnant.  Gonna watch Brian around the neighbors a little closer, though. 

FINAL YAMATO–Subtitles aside, really engrossing anime.  Gotta get those on DVD, really. 

NEMESIS–Anyone who doesn’t know how much of a Trek freak I am, well, then YOU DON’T KNOW ME AT ALL!!  Okay, chick flick moment over.  One of the big complaints I hear about a couple of the Trek movies is tht they just seem like really long episodes.  People seem to consider this a BAD thing.  Most of the Trek episodes, Shades of Gray notwithstanding, are really worth watching.  So, I don’t have that complaint.  The only two things I would’ve liked done differently–explained where the Remans got the android, and when the Romulans got the Picard DNA.  Also, I would’ve liked either in this one OR Insurrection to have a line to Worf about Jadzia. 

30 Days Of Night–Not as suspenseful as I’d expected.  Well cast, the vampires were definitely creepy enough.  Only thing I’d have done differently, not have the vampires so visible. 

28 Days/Weeks Later–Days–Good concept, good beginning, They should’ve kept the mystery up a bit longer, and not spent so much time in the manor house.  Weeks–Better, but not really worth watching again. 

Juno–Stace rented it, I watched it with her.  Okay for what it was.  Snappy dialogue, but it doesn’t sustain.  Maybe if I was 16 and a girl, it’d be better.  Since I’m neither, well, okay.  NEXT!

CLOVERFIELD–Watched it twice last night.  Then I watched the making-of stuff.  Brian(the animator/water tech, not the kid) and I have everything, literally, except the cameras and the money to put that together.  I thought that was really cool in and of itself.  Throw the movie in, along with finding out Clovie broke the bridge with his tail not his hand, and HE’S JUST A FREAKIN’ 300-FOOT TALL BABY! DAMN!

THE PINK PANTHER STRIKES AGAIN–Thees ees a dour.  Doesn’t get better than that.

KUNG FU PANDA–Not as funny as we’d expected, with Jack Black in it, but still pretty good.  First movie Brian’s made it all the way through in the theater.  His ears didn’t seem to bother him.  Decent animation, popcorn, and my whole family next to me–a good night indeed.  

 

~ by Sean on June 12, 2008.

5 Responses to “Scullion Goes To The Movies”

  1. I was about to post that I hate M. Night Shyamalan’s movies, but that’d not be true. Actually, I’m always really disappointed in his movies. Great for atmosphere, but a movie needs more. Sixth Sense, Unbreakable–first ten minutes of each I had them figured out. The Village–had that figured out as soon as I saw the trailers. Now, it could be that I see through all his tricks because I write, or I’m smart, or maybe I just pick up things. Then I see THIS:
    http://www.scifi.com/scifiwire/index.php?category=3&id=55911

    He wants to make “popcorn movies.” He wants to make movies with a message. So, don’t keep TELLING people what you’re doing, just DO it. Triangle has a very specific message–don’t let your position in the world make you think you’re above it. It also has some kick-butt suspense scenes. And a motorcycle! While I’m very concious of the message I’m trying to get out, I realize people don’t go to movies like this for messages. They go to have the crap scared out of them.

    Okay, rant over.

  2. I am not a real movie goer but I do go to a few and I think thrillers are a waste of my time but a few i see.. usually steven king but I venture out sometimes.. I like the classics actually with Vincent Price. I know the story line and watched it before but I like my movies like that for some reason. it entertains me …Some of the movies you listed are silly one.. I want to know when they are going to start making some good westerns again.

  3. I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything Price did that I didn’t like. Westerns, though, I don’t know that the studios think the audience is there. They also don’t generally think the audience is there for family movies, but the last few family movies(and I use that in it’s broadest possible sense, not just Disneymations and the runners-up) usually pull in more than the action movies and the horror movies that abound in the theaters. In order to do a Western right, it has to be something really special, a Dances With Wolves. Also, as with most sci-fi movies, a Western has to have a good story, better than a lot of mainstream ones, but the story would also have to work IN a mainstream setting. It’s not enough to have horses and hats and six-guns. There has to be some depth behind it. Tombstone, The Alamo, and any Western that Jimmy Stewart did, they stand up, because there’s more than setting, there’s STORY.

  4. “28 Days/Weeks Later–Days–Good concept, good beginning, They should’ve kept the mystery up a bit longer, and not spent so much time in the manor house. Weeks–Better, but not really worth watching again. “

    Weeks…
    Better??????

    Can
    not
    compute
    information
    .

    Data
    not
    compatible
    .

    Must
    reboot
    systems
    before
    total
    crash
    occurs
    .

    ***********CRASH***********

    Too late…

  5. HAHAA! Yes, gentlemen, my plan worked, PARTY AT CHANDLER’S!! Jenn, you owe me one for getting rid of him!

Leave a Reply

 
