Post Party Stress-free Relaxations And Ruminations And Some Comic Shop Stuff


WE ARE TIRED.  That’s the first thing.

Brian made out like a freakin’ bandit.  Not a bad haul for turning 7.  We got 8 pizzas, from someplace that we started getting pizza from in ’77, and I haven’t had since ’02.  Vince’s could teach every pizza place in Huntingdon Valley how to really make good pizza.  Felt funny to drive through my old neighborhood, but I realized as much as I miss it, I don’t know that I’d move back. 

Water balloons–fill them till they’re about to burst, otherwise they paradoxically bounce.  Also, Brian has a heck of an arm on him.  Pretty accurate, too.  My neice was astonished that in a water balloon fight SHE GOT WET!! 

Sheil and Eileen got Stace a birthday cake.  Thought that was cool.  Also thought it was cool that Stace could have some dacquaris(or however it’s spelled) since she didn’t have to drive home. 

I WANT to get Stace this picture-laser-enscribed-in-a-clear-cube thing for her birthday, but it’ll probably be a just-cuz present, since it takes 3 weeks to make and her birthday is in 6 days.  Might get her an I-pod in the meantime. 

Been playing in After Effects more.  Got one of my ships to shoot a phaser beam, but the glow effect isn’t working right.  Since I’m in a camera tower instead of doing graphics(a MUCH better situation, the lack of bathroom facilities notwithstanding) I’m going to play some more with it tomorrow. 

Over at Peter David’s blog, I mentioned there are several really good comic shops in the area.  My personal favorite, mostly because I went to high school with the owner, is Wade’s Comic Madness, www.comicmadness.com.  Close second, also in Levittown, Steve’s Comic Relief, http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=286988919.  Don’t know why it’s a Myspace page.  Third is Bagged and Boarded in Bensalem,  http://www.baggedandboarded.com/2/.  Fourth is Brave New Worlds in Willow Grove,  http://www.insiderpages.com/businesses/redirect/4247555094.  So, there you go.

And, no, that last phrase wasn’t meant to have any significance other than, there you go.  If it gives anyone a nostalgic giggle, though, all well and good.

 

~ by Sean on June 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
