Voices


I just watched Plan 9 From Outer Space.  I think it wasn’t AS bad as it was made out to be.  Daughter of Robin Hood was better, considering it was in color, it was shorter, shot partially in my backyard, and it has me in it.  (Should I have done a shameless plug warning?)  It’s also the origin of the phrase”He tried to touch me!” which I have to find a way to put into one of my screenplays.

Started thinking, though.  Ed Wood.  This inevitably led to thinking of Tim Burton.  Which, for me, usually ends up leading to thinking of Rod Serling.  (I don’t know why.)  I’d like to think my stuff’s creative enough to work on screen.  But look at my favorite directors–Burton, Spielberg, Romero, Raimi, Gibson, Donner, and the ones I’m too tired to think of right now, what kind of director would that make me?  If I were to film Shadows Given Substance(the latest in a looooooooooong line of potential titles) or Triangle, would I try to emulate someone or would I just let me be me?  Bill, on your movies, how is it?  I can’t even use my job to judge considering that with the exception of our executive producer, and our one live show director, I’d not trust any of the directors here to give me directions out of the building much less tackle something beyond horse racing. 

So here’s what I’m wondering.  You have the script finished.  You have the production company waiting.  You have your cast.  Would you try to emulate someone, or cherry pick from lots of people, or just wing it yourself and pour your complete essence into it, laying yourself open at the core to the viewing public?  

And yes, I do think too much.  Certain people who’re reading this who’ve known me for a long time would agree. 

Scene I thought of, not sure where to put it–woman being chased, scared, sees a door slowly closing in front of her, races forward to catch it, gets there too late, finds it locked and she needs a key card to get through and there’s no other way to go. 

~ by Sean on May 24, 2008.

One Response to “Voices”

  1. Wing it. But even in that you’re picking things from others to emulate. You learn so much from observing or studying from others that you can’t help but to do what some others have done. You may put your own slant on it or exaggerate a small trick into a huge visual spectacle, but it really is kind of hard to do something that’s never been done before or in a way that’s never been done before.

Leave a Reply

 
