Making movies can be hobbit-forming


So, if you didn’t hear, Guillermo Del Toro is doing the film for The Hobbit and…it’s sequel?  When I first heard the rumors, the story was that the book was going to be split two, but now it seems like the second film’s going to be dealing with the 6 decades between Bilbo’s return and departure. 

My questions are two.  Where did this second story come from?  Was there anything in Fellowship that made you think that Mr. Baggins, Sr. had any adventures beyond going to the Mountain? 

I also wonder how many comedy shows are going to take either the Gaffer or Sam and have them doing yardwork with Toro lawn equipment, but that’s just my punny brain on overdrive.

~ by Sean on April 25, 2008.

12 Responses to “Making movies can be hobbit-forming”

  1. There’s not much of a story for Bilbo after the Hobbit. Maybe they want to tell the story of Aragorn, and other things that are alluded to in the Fellowship?

    It’s knid of risky.

  2. That’s what I was thinking, Micha. Or, they could be taking a page out of the Potter film’s book, and splitting Hobbit down the middle. (That’d be MESSY!)

  3. I think that they’re going to try and draw on some of JRRT’s short stories and unfinished tales to create the bridging tale between the two better known works. Too bad that this is going to be the second film though. After seeing how well the LOTR films looked, I was drooling over the idea of seeing The Simerilian brought to the screen.

  4. I hate to admit this, but I will anyway. I’ve never read The Simarillion, or however you spell it.

  5. Hang your head in –

    SHAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Yeah, it is. Any lower and my scalp’s going to have my own Converse prints on it. But at least I’ve HEARD of it!

  7. Sean, you haven’t read Simarillion? For shame!

    But the Silmarillion takes place way before the Hobbit, so it wouldn’t make a good sequel. It might make a good miniseries, but it is too tragic, I think, for a movie.

    I usually think of the Hobbit as short, so it is strange to think of it us cut into two movies. Where would you cut it? But that might be it. If not, than maybe there are stories taking place between Hobbit and LOTR. I don’t know them that well. I’ve only read the Sillmarilion and the Appendices, not all the other volumes of work.

  8. Yeah, I know it’s the pre-history of the stories, but I was still hoping up until the latest word came out that the early word on the “sequel” was somewhat wrong. Yeah, there’s tragedy in it… But I’ll be damned if it wouldn’t have some kick butt looking scenes for the big screen.

    As for where you could cut the Hobbit in two…

    I would cut the film into two 2 1/2 hour films. The break point would come when Bilbo and the dwarves are pulled up from the river after their barrel ride/escape and the men under the mountain get Thorin’s “I have returned” bit.

    The break would allow you to get the early highpoints in and then really do the bits with Smaug and the final battle justice. I think it would work better as an Easter & Christmas release that way though and not two films with a one year break between them. That way the story break isn’t too bad and you can run the trailer for the second half of the film before the start of the first half’s credits.

  9. Sounds good to me.

  10. Check this out–
    http://the-hobbit-movie.com/

  11. I really liked Jerry’s idea about how to divide the Hobbit. I don’t know how much Tolkien wrote about the period between the Hobbit and LOTR beyond the Appendices. If he didn’t provide the details it might end up being a pretty original creation. It would be iteresting to have more of a story about the rangers, the Dundain of the north. I always found them and the Rivendell elves to be very intriguing. They can also explore more Gandalf’s character. What he does when he’s not in the Shire.

    If this movie works maybe they’ll be tempted to make Sillmarillion. Although it would be hard to deal with the tragic nature of it.

  12. I consider Lord of the Rings to be among the finest cinematic achievements in motion picture history. As for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, the closest approximation is The Phantom Menace. I liked The Phantom Menace back in May 1999 and I still do (in defense of… ). But I now know exactly how those who disliked or hated Episode One felt on that fateful evening 12.5 years ago. I feel your pain, for now it is my pain as well.-

    Look at all of the best and newest short article at our very own internet site
    <'http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/benefits-of-almond-milk/

Leave a Reply

 
